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TEXAS BEHAVIORAL HEALTH EXECUTIVE COUNCIL 
APPLICATION FOR TEMPORARY LP or LPA 
 
All Applicants: 
 
  Complete, Signed Application 

 

  Application Fee (check, money order). See 22 TAC 885.1 for a list of the fee amounts. 
 

 Verification of any of the following credentials from the issuing organization, if applicable: 
• CPQ (Certificate of Professional Qualification) from Association of State and Provincial 
 Psychology Boards (ASPPB)  Contact numbers are: 800-448-4069 or 678-216-1175. 
• Specialist designation from American Board of Professional Psychology (ABPP) Contact  
number is 919-537-8031 

_____________ If you did not have any of the above additional credentials, you are required to supply the  
equivalent laws. Do not attach the whole book! only the 4 to 8 pages from your rules or 
statutes that  contain the verbiage need to prove equivalency.  

                        Please highlight the following: 
• Degree required for licensure (minimum of doctoral degree in psychology) 
• EPPP cutoff score (minimum scaled score of 500 or 70%) 
• Supervised experience requirements (two years or minimum of 3000 hours 

under a licensed psychologist) 
 Copy of any orders for disciplinary action against any of your license(s), and 

documentation of completion of any requirements, if applicable 
 

 Desired dates of intended practice in Texas, if known at this time 
 
 Name, license number, and contact information of licensed Texas LP sponsor 
 
 Verification of licensure in other jurisdiction(s) 
 
A temporary license allows out-of-state psychologists to practice for 30 days during the course of a year.  
These days do not have to be consecutive.  A temporary license holder could, for example, provide 
services to a patient once a week for 30 weeks;  twice a week for 15 weeks;  or on an ad hoc basis 
throughout the year.  Regular temporary licenses cannot be renewed, per se, but you can obtain a new 
temporary license each year by submitting a new application and fee once a year has passed since the 
issue date. 
 
Texas law requires that a temporary license holder have a Texas psychologist “supervisor” in order to be 
granted temporary licensure.  For the purposes of temporary licensure and as defined in 22 TAC 
463.12(d), this should be understood as requiring a “sponsor” as there is no supervisory responsibility for 
the psychologist sponsor.  Texas requires a supervisor/sponsor with whom you may consult if you feel it 
is necessary.  If you are not acquainted with any Texas psychologists, you can conduct an online search 
for actively licensed psychologists by city or county via the Council’s website at 
www.bhec.texas.gov/verify-a-license. 

  

http://www.bhec.texas.gov/verify-a-license
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Once approved, you will receive a letter or email granting temporary licensure for a total of 30 days.  At 
this point you may begin providing services.  Once the 30 days have been exhausted, or a year has passed 
(whichever occurs earliest), you are required to submit a log of the dates and times services were 
provided. 
 
For example: 
 

09/26/2023 Teletherapy session with client currently in Texas for college 
03/01/2024 Teletherapy session with client visiting Texas 
5/04/2024 – 05/06/2024 Provided expert testimony for trial in Harris County, TX 

 
When applying for a temporary license, if you hold any of the following credentials, please have the 
issuing organization(s) send verification directly to the Council.  Verification may be sent via e-mail to 
psychology@bhec.texas.gov or by mail to Texas Behavioral Health Executive Council, 1801 Congress, 
Ste. 7.300, Austin, Texas 78701. 

• CPQ (Certificate of Professional Qualification) issued by the Association of State and Provincial 
Psychology Boards (ASPPB). 

• HSP (Health Service Provider) status from the National Register of Health Service Psychologists. 
• Specialist designation from the American Board of Professional Psychology (ABPP). 

 
Please attach supporting documents electronically to online application, where possible. 
 
Presuming you have no disciplinary history and staff can verify your license directly from your licensing 
board’s website, you will not need to submit any additional documentation.  If you do have disciplinary 
history in your home jurisdiction, please submit a copy of the disciplinary order(s) entered against your 
license. 
 
Applications are reviewed within six weeks of receipt in the order received. In the event your application is 
found to be incomplete or agency staff have questions regarding your application, a staff member will 
contact you regarding any missing or incomplete items or with his or her question. Do not contact agency 
staff within this six week period unless you are responding to an inquiry from staff. Telephone calls 
and emails requesting a status update within the initial six-week review period only serve to increase 
application processing times for all applicants.  
 

In the event you have not heard from agency staff within six weeks of submitting your application, you 
may contact staff psychology@bhec.texas.gov 
 
 

Applicants are encouraged to keep a copy of all materials submitted to the Council in the event 
materials are lost in transit. Applicants are also encouraged to submit application materials via a 
method that allows tracking and proof of delivery. It is the applicant’s responsibility to ensure that 
all required materials are received by the agency; the agency is not responsible for items misdirected 
or lost while in transit.  
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